The rhythm of point, line, tri & quad

RN all 4

I have a brand new obsession. It’s called Rhythm Necklace. It’s an app described as a “musical sequencer for exploring the geometry of rhythm necklaces, and for experimenting with generating rhythms algorithmically.”  It’s got a deep conceptual base in the work of Godfried Toussaint as laid out in his book The Geometry of Musical Rhythm.

I see huge possibility for the classroom, but I’m not yet at the point of understanding what that would look like with real live kids. For now I am content exploring the tool and following my nose down a bunch of rabbit holes. On my fifth composition I hit upon something I really liked.  I call it “1, 2, 3, 4” or “Point, line, tri & quad”.

In the video, below, I add each rhythm one by one and then mute some of the rhythms so you can hear the relationship between the 1 and the other three, and also the 4 and the other three.

I’m curious other ways I can configure the same rhythm visually.

I’m curious how many different rhythms (not mathematically speaking and not counting tonal quality) I can create using a point, line, tri and quad.

I’m curious what might happen if elementary kids worked in teams of two with a series of tasks/challenges to investigate.

Just in writing out this little post I’m already thinking about what those tasks might be. For now, though, I am more than content to continue down my nonverbal rabbit hole. It’s just what I needed after 2.5 years of existing in the realm of words and book manuscripting. I am much happier here!

Leave a Reply

